Please assign a menu to the primary menu location under menu


Ramos Left Out Of Spain’s Uefa Euro 2020 Squad

By Tafadzwa Chigandiwa
Spain national team coach Luis Enrique (51) has left out experienced defender Sergio Ramos in his 24-man squad for the Uefa Euro 2020 tournament slated for  June 11 to July 11, 2021.
The 35-year old Los Blancos centre-back who had been captaining the Spain squad regularly was reportedly left out of the team because he has been prone to injuries this season.
Apart from Ramos missing out, something strange has been noted in Enrique’s team, no Real Madrid player was named in the Spaniard’s final squad for the first time.
However, in an interview with the Spanish media, the former FC Barcelona coach who had an option to select 26 but opted for 24 leaving 2 slot unfilled, justified his team selection.
“We do not want to take any more because we want everyone to have a chance of playing, and we know that only around 18 or 19 will actually play,” he said.
Despite being part of the squad that handed the Spaniards their first World Cup trophy in 2010, the aggressive defender, Ramos has been reportedly replaced by Laporte.
According to the European media, Man City and French Aymeric Laporte who recently switched his international allegiance from France to Spain is set to be the new heart of defense .
Spain squad:
Goalkeepers: Unai Simon (Athletic Bilbao), David de Gea (Manchester United), Robert Sanchez (Brighton).
Defenders: Jose Gaya (Valencia), Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Pau Torres (Villarreal), Aymeric Laporte (Manchester City), Eric Garcia (Manchester City), Diego Llorente (Leeds), Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea).
Midfielders: Marcos Llorente (Atletico Madrid), Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Rodri (Manchester City), Pedri (Barcelona), Thiago (Liverpool), Koke (Atletico Madrid), Fabian (Napoli), Dani Olmo (RB Leipzig), Pablo Sarabia (Paris Saint-Germain).
Forwards: Gerard Moreno (Villarreal), Alvaro Morata (Atletico Madrid), Ferran Torres (Manchester City), Adama Traore (Wolves), Mikel Oyarzabal (Real Sociedad).
For the first time in 60-years, the UEFA EURO 2020 is being held across the European continent with 11 host cities set to host the prestigious competition.
The games will be hosted and played as follows: Final and semi-finals, two round of 16 games, three group games will be played in London, England at Wembley Stadium and six group games, one quarter-final will be in Russia at Saint Petersburg Stadium.
The three group games and one quarter-final match will be at Azerbaijan, Baku Olympic Stadium, Germany Football Arena Munich and Italy Olimpico in Rome.
In addition, three group games and 1 round of 16 game will be hosted at Amsterdam, Netherlands, Johan Cruijff Arena, in Romania, National Arena Bucharest, in Hungary, Puskás Aréna, in Denmark, Parken Stadium while in Scotland, Hampden Park and in Spain: Stadium La Cartuja Sevilla.
There are six groups at the competition with each group consisting of four teams.
Group A: Turkey, Italy, Wales, Switzerland
Group B: Denmark, Finland, Belgium, Russia
Group C: Netherlands, Ukraine, Austria, North Macedonia
Group D: England, Croatia, Scotland, Czech Republic
Group E: Spain, Sweden, Poland, Slovakia
Group F: Hungary, Portugal, France, Germany
Robert Tapfumaneyi